Tamil Nadu Tennis Association, the only administrative body for tennis in Tamil Nadu, is a 96 year old organisation registered under the Societies Act and affiliated to the All India Tennis Association as well as the Tamil Nadu Olympic Association. 

The TNTA has been at the forefront of promoting tennis in Tamil Nadu with its regular conduct of regional, national and international tournaments, running tennis coaching schools, organising the local inter-club league tournament annually and holding clinics and examinations for umpires and officials. 

The TNTA has organised successfully, for the last 28 years, the Junior National Clay Court Championships and our state has had a number of winners of this premier junior tennis event in Somdev Devvarman, Sriram Balaji and Ramkumar Ramanathan amongst the boys and Sai Jayalakshmy amongst the girls. Apart from international junior tournaments that are held annually, a number of state ranking events are also held throughout the year, providing local players with plenty of match practice and exposure. 

In 1997, the IMG (International Management Group) brought to Chennai, its first ever ATP event and over the years this tournament has witnessed some world class tennis action right here at home. Players like Rafael Nadal, Boris Becker, Carlos Moyà, Stanislas Wawrinka, Marin Cilic, Patrick Rafter, Mikhael Youzhny and Daniel Medvedev have participated and the tournament has provided a springboard to many Indians, notably Leander Paes, Mahesh Bhupathi, Somdev Devvarman and Ramkumar Ramanathan who have then gone on to achieve great heights in their careers. 

The TNTA runs 3 coaching centres in Chennai and provides free coaching to Corporation school children in association with the Sports Development Authority of Tamil Nadu (SDAT).

TNTA has been conducting the inter-club league tournament for 72 years now


and the last 29 editions have been sponsored by the Sanmar Group. Over 400 players of all skill levels take part in this league, making it one of the liveliest in the country. 

TNTA organises an Annual Day function every year to recognise the outstanding performances of the state’s tennis players. Cash awards are given away in different categories and this has always encouraged players to work harder and do better. 

Tamil Nadu has long been considered the Mecca of Indian tennis having produced many excellent tennis players over the years. The trend started by the legendary Ramanathan Krishnan was kept up by the illustrious Amritraj brothers, Vijay and Anand, Ramesh Krishnan, S.Vasudevan and carried on by Somdev Devvarman and current David Cup team members Ramkumar Ramanathan, Prajnesh Gunneswaran and Mukund Sasikumar. Among the ladies, yesteryear star Lakshmi Mahadevan provided the inspiration to the likes of Nirupama Vaidyanathan, Sai Jayalakshmy and Rushmi Chakravarthi who all went on to represent the country and win laurels.